Depending on the destination and items carried, international travel by UCLA employees and students may be subject to export control regulations. As of December 2019, the countries listed below have the most comprehensive U.S. embargo programs:

  • Cuba
  • Iran*
  • North Korea
  • Sudan
  • Syria

If you are planning to travel to any of the above countries, it is important that you contact our office as soon as possible. You should complete a Restricted Travel Questionnaire and submit it to

See Department of the Treasury’s Sanctions Programs and Country Information for details about the specific sanctions programs, and contact with any questions.

*Note that any trip to Iran (e.g., research, meetings, conferences, award ceremonies) requires an export license from the U.S. government. As this process can take several months, be sure to contact early in your planning process.